Home » Dehradun » I Remember…..

I Remember…..

I remember fireflies and moonrise. 

These were the two things that I would wait for, make time for. I would look at the exact direction from where the moon would rise and judging by the soft glow emanating from behind the thickly forested hills, know exactly when it would make an appearance. In the darkness of those times when the hills were not inhabitated and street lights didn’t exist, it was the perfect setting to observe natures night life, especially stars and fireflies. 

Surrounded by night sounds of crickets and distant cries of jackals, I would settle myself on the corner of the railing and support my back against the wall. Floating life, in the form of fireflies would glide by, they would congregate near some self-chosen bush or tree and do their magical dance, mesmerising me completely. 

Between the rising moon and the lively fireflies, the pressure cooker would release it’s steam, reminding me that dinner would not be too long now… I would get down from my perch and head downstairs after having inhaled a huge dose of solitude and beauty that would last a life time….

Todays glorious moonrise reminded me of this…Of course, the only constant was the beauty of the moon. The scene is altered beyond recognition…..

Memories of Dehradoon

Leave a Reply

